About Us

To strengthen entrepreneurship & start-up ecosystem in Indian Institute of Technology Ropar and the country at large, the institute has been running a technology business incubator at its campus, which is an independent Section 8 Company, registered as IIT Ropar Technology Business Incubator Foundation (TBIF). It was formed in 2016 to host Technology Business Incubator (TBI) under NIDHI TBI Scheme of Department of Science & Technology, Government of India. It is housed in M. Visvesvaraya Block of the institute with a floor area of 10000 sq feet. The incubator has its own Board of Directors with Prof. S. K. Das (Director-IIT Ropar) as the Managing Director. Prof. Harpreet Singh (Dean-ICSRII) is the Coordinator & one of the directors of TBIF and Dr. Ashish Sahani is the Faculty- Incharge of TBIF. Mr. J. K. Sharma is currently the Chief Operating Officer of the incubator, who is looking after its day to day operations. Infrastructure-wise the incubator comprises co-working spaces as well as individual fully furnished offices for incubates, along with some common amenities such as conference room, pantry and central laboratory. The TBIF has constituted a Proposal Evaluation and Monitoring Committee, which evaluates the business proposals as per the SOP of TBIF. The incubator caters to the incubation and mentoring needs of the future entrepreneurs of IIT Ropar and the Nation. The incubator has the following thrust areas:

  • IT and IT-enabled Services
  • Manufacturing
  • Healthcare Technologies
  • Clean Energy
  • Agriculture

If you are a faculty of IIT Ropar or student on institute fellowship of IIT Ropar planning to incubate at TBIF, you may please refer to following Entrepreneurship policy documents

Mission and Vision

To be updated soon...


Startups Incubated


Startups Funded



70 L+

funded to startups